The Franchise Owner's most trusted news source

Log In / Register | Jul 23, 2018

Best Western Finally Makes a Move

David Kong, president and CEO of Best Western International reported on April 19, 2010 that BW will separate its properties into Best Western, Best Western Plus and Best Western Premier beginning in February 2011. This long-overdue action will bring Premier to the United States after nearly a decade in Europe and Asia where it has been synonymous with four-star hotel quality.  U.S. owners of these Best Western hotels have long urged this action so that they could command higher rates.  The new BW Atrea prototype hotels will be natural candidates for the Premier designation.

As Jeff Higley, Editor of HotelNewsNow, wrote on April 20, 2010:

The beauty and curse of the Best Western system is that all properties are not created equal.  Some are truly roadside motels that hue up to the image of the brand that was founded as a referral group by M.K. Guertin in 1946.  Others are entrenched mid-market hotels that serve airports and suburban locations.  And others are upper-end hotels in urban or resort locations that can demand higher rates then their brand brethren.”

In this important quality assessment, Best Western reports that it has already separated more than 500 under-performing properties in a quality assurance trimming and improved its customer care while developing its new prototypes.

About the author: Please note that Stanley Turkel, MHS, ISHC has just published the book “Great American Hoteliers: Pioneers of the Hotel Industry.” It contains 359 pages, 25 illustrations and 16 chapters devoted to each of the following pioneers: John McEntee Bowman, Carl Graham Fisher, Henry Morrison Flagler, John Q. Hammons, Frederick Henry Harvey. Ernest Henderson, Conrad Nicholson Hilton, Howard Dearing Johnson, J. Willard Marriott, Kanjibhai Patel, Henry Bradley Plant, George Mortimer Pullman, A.M. Sonnabend, Ellsworth Milton Statler, Juan Terry Trippe and Kemmons Wilson. It also has a foreword by Stephen Rushmore, preface, introduction, bibliography and index. Visit to order the book.

No votes yet

About Stanley Turkel

Stanley Turkel's picture

Public Profile

Stanley Turkel, CMHS is a New York-based hotel consultant specializing in hotel-related expert witness and franchising services. He was designated as the 2015 and 2014 Historian of the Year by Historic Hotels of America, an official program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. To order his books, Great American Hoteliers: Pioneers of the Hotel Industry; Built To Last: 100+ Year-Old Hotels in New York; Built To Last: 100+ Year-Old Hotels East of the Mississippi; Built To Last: 100+ Year-Old Hotels West of the Mississippi; and Hotel Mavens: Lucius M. Boomer, George C. Boldt and Oscar of the Waldorf, go to and click on "books."

Turkel can be reached at or (917) 628-8549.